8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2016 5:27 AM by . Vasic

Multiple SQL Querys on which level

. Vasic

Hey everyone!

I'm really new to tableau and to databases, so please tell me if my question is not understandable.

It is possible to use mutiple SQL Querys, but I would like to know where the Joins for multiple Querys will be executed. Is it on database-Level or on application-level?

Sorry, for my not so perfect english, hope you can help me.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Multiple SQL Querys on which level
          Mark Fraser

HI Stefan

As far as I know (someone will probably say otherwise!) but I believe SQL queries will always execute against the database.

The types and order of joins will affect performance as will the volume of fields and data.

Personally, I tend to write a SQL view (could use a table)

I link the view/table to Tableau, and use Tableau for reporting

The SQL 'view' can be called for refresh when required (vs a table which can not)

The data stays in the database, and i just extract what i need into Tableau

Hope that helps

Cheers

Mark

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Multiple SQL Querys on which level
            Mark Fraser

Sorry, for my not so perfect english

Didn't even notice!

• 3. Re: Multiple SQL Querys on which level
              . Vasic

Thanks Mark, that helped a lot!

I'm glad that the community is so nice and helpful!

Have a nice day,

Cheers

• 4. Re: Multiple SQL Querys on which level
                Mark Fraser

Hi Stefan

You're welcome, glad i could help.

I'm glad that the community is so nice and helpful!

Thank you for the feedback - we are very lucky with the community

If you have any further questions then please feel free to use the forums - we have all sorts of experts who can help!

Cheers

Mark

PS. I'm going to mark my answer correct to close the thread - if you feel that you still need help let me know, and I can try and help!

• 5. Re: Multiple SQL Querys on which level