9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 2, 2016 2:39 AM by Mahfooj Khan

custom sql query

shravan kumar

hi all,

i am new to tableau.when we connect with sql server or excel.how to retrieve the data.please explain any body step by step.

thanks in advance

shravan kumar

• 1. Re: custom sql query
          Mahfooj Khan

Hi Sharvan,

Few questions:

Can you explain what you mean to say by retrieve here?Are you trying to make an extract of your data?

Are you trying to load the data in tableau engine?

Some useful link you can refer.

Connect to Data

Extract Your Data

Feel free to ask If you've any question.

Mahfooj

• 2. Re: custom sql query
            Mark Fraser

Hi Shravan

Tableau offer plenty of training material via their website

To answer your question, they are 1 page quick guides which should help Quick Starts

This particular one >> Quick Start: Connect to Your Data

Cheers

Mark

• 3. Re: custom sql query
              shravan kumar

i mean ...

i have 50 different  fields i want only 12 fields from data source how can i extract with custom sql query please explain by step by step.

my can't allowed to share.please help with superstore data.

thanks in advance

shravan kumar

• 4. Re: custom sql query
                Mahfooj Khan

Here you go,

You've to connect your data with Legacy connection first. Once you connect you'll get New Custom SQL option then you can write your sql like this and select only desired fields. But remember it will work only with excel data.

Hope this help

2 of 2 people found this helpful
                • 5. Re: custom sql query
                  Mahfooj Khan

If you're connecting your data from database then try to create a view with selected columns then connect that view in tableau.

• 6. Re: custom sql query
                    shravan kumar

Thank you mahfooj,

when connect with  sql server also same query or any thing different with case sensitive.please let me know. if you have any links or document please attache me.