6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2016 4:00 AM by Mark Fraser

Custom SQL

Laura Vecchio

Good Morning,

As a starter, I'm completely new to Tableau and SQL so apologies for what may be a crude explanation!

I'm trying to merge multiple databases with each database containing multiple brands.

My issue is, within each database the company ID starts at 0 so I can't merge them without telling SQL to replace the 0's in all but one of the databases to return an alternative 'company ID'.

An example hierarchy would be;

Database A - Digital (0), Search (1), PPC (2)

Database B - Advertising (0)

The two tables containing company info are;

[system_control].[company_id]

[placements].[owning_company_id]

But these are also how the tables are joined;

INNER JOIN [dbo].[placements] [placements] ON ([system_control].[company_id] = [placements].[owning_company_id])

My basic SQL knowledge told me to use a CASE statement. So I included the following in database B's SQL script'

CASE[system_control].[company_id]

WHEN 0 THEN 100

END,

CASE[placements].[owning_company_id]

WHEN 0 THEN 100

END,

Within the results Advertising now has company ID of 100 and the company name reads 'Advertising' however the records it's returning are those of Digital.

Therefore when I run a query on billings (a calc field) I get the following;

Digital - £49,500

Search - £25,000
      PPC - £10,000

Advertising - £49,500

So it's recognising the company name and ID I've asked it to from database B but it's getting it confused with database A.

I have a feeling I perhaps need to make amendments to the join?
      I've tried Google and forums but nothing seems to work.

Any help would be hugely appreciated as at present I can't run any complete reports!

Thank you
      Laura

• 1. Re: Custom SQL
          Mark Fraser

Hi Laura

That's quite a question

Let's start at the beginning, the company names...