12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 27, 2016 11:43 AM by Sandy Wolfkind

2 dates line chart

Sandy Wolfkind

I have 2 dates , resolve date and created date .. I need to create a line chart for counting the records by Priority something as below ? how do I structure data for this?

I am pretty new to tableau ,

• 1. Re: 2 dates line chart
          Chris Dickson

The easiest way to achieve this is to have a row per date and a column each for created and resolved, however your feed is not likely in this format.

if in a log file  format (where you have a field EventType and another EventDate) then tableau will have no problem creating the above chart

if in a row per bug format (most likely) where you have a BugID and two fields, one with a created date and another with a resolved date then duplicate the data feed and blend on CreatedDate = ResolvedDate, then you can pull in Numbe rof Records from the primary and Secondary data sources to achieve the above chart.

If you have a safe dataset you can share, im sure myself or someone else in the community could knock you up a workbook to show you how to acheive the above with whatever format data you have.

• 2. Re: 2 dates line chart
            Sandy Wolfkind

" then duplicate the data feed and blend on CreatedDate = ResolvedDate, then you can pull in Numbe rof Records from the primary and Secondary data sources to achieve the above chart."

Can you please let me know .. how the above can be done?

do I have to create a calculated dimension ? what would be the expression?

• 3. Re: 2 dates line chart
              Chris Dickson

Hi Sandy,

please see attached workbook with same dataset duplicated to create a line on line chart.

to duplicate the dataset right click on the one you have and select 'Duplicate'