4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2016 1:34 PM by K Muntean

Unique Count of NON-selected items

K Muntean

I am a Tableau novice, but have been asked to design a data extract for use in a Summary Page for an existing Tableau workbook. I have attached an example of the data as it currently stands.

What I need to know is how to calculate the following item, and specifically, what I need to ask for in terms of data to make that calculation as simple as possible.

1. Waitlisted for other courses:
        • These items should show the count of unique students (Masked ID) who are waitlisted for X number of courses NOT selected in the filter (which allows multiple selections)

Current Term Course Waitlist Summary

Drop-down selectors (can select multiples): Subject, Course Number (or a Subject-Number concatenation, if that makes calculation easier)

Unique headcount of students on a waitlist for selected course(s): Domestic  ______________    International  ______________

Students on a waitlist for selected course(s) are:

Waitlisted for other courses

No other courses

Count of unique students who are not waitlisted for any courses other than those selected in the filter

1 other course

Count of unique students who are waitlisted for 1 course in addition to, but not including, those selected in the filter

2 other courses

Count of unique students who are waitlisted for 2 courses in addition to, but not including, those selected in the filter

3 other courses

Count of unique students who are waitlisted for 3 courses in addition to, but not including, those selected in the filter

4+ other courses

Count of unique students who are waitlisted for 4 or more in addition to, but not including,  those selected in the filter

• 1. Re: Unique Count of NON-selected items
          Joe Oppelt

I'm kind of guessing what you really need here.