1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Jul 27, 2016 8:21 AM by Joe Oppelt

Null values--connecting an excel sheet to an ODBC iseries connection

Jillian Lellis

Hi,

I'm pretty new to tableau but I have done some training online. I am trying to do data blending from an odbc connection to an excel sheet. They both have a COUNTY field that is formatted the same. I am getting only null values. Help please! I am attaching the dummy data.

thanks,

Jill

BTW- I have been able to get the joins to work when the data is exported from our system to the same excel workbook on a different tab but the goal is to have the store codes be able to update if we ever update the code table without having to do the export then join that way.

• 2. Re: Null values--connecting an excel sheet to an ODBC iseries connection
          Jillian Lellis

Thats how i connected Excel. We were told to not go the DB2 route, but to use the odbc iseries connection. Is this a problem?

• 3. Re: Null values--connecting an excel sheet to an ODBC iseries connection
            Toby Erkson

We need details.  Take your time and explain.

What is the reason behind not using the native connector? 

Yes, ODBC connectors typically have less functionality and can be slower than the native connectors.

• 4. Re: Null values--connecting an excel sheet to an ODBC iseries connection
              Jillian Lellis

Our IT does not want us connecting to our DB2 system any other way. In the past, rather than having a read-only connection someone overrode data using a different connection. Now our IT does not want us to connect any way other than the odbc iseries connection in read-only. It is a mandate from our IT group and marketing has no say over this. If I could make a case to connect another way, maybe this could change but for now we're stuck.

• 5. Re: Null values--connecting an excel sheet to an ODBC iseries connection
                Toby Erkson