9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 24, 2016 9:36 AM by Yuriy Fal

Using two date fields to create trend across time

Jared Cunningham

Hi - Tableau newbie here..

I want to create a trend across time of an hourly cost measure.

I have three data fields in use: 'Unit Cost', 'Hire date' and 'Exit date'

The Unit cost field is a measure of cost.

The other two take the format of a specific date sometime in the last few years.

I know how i would do this in excel.. I would have a cell with each month in it and then create a formula under each month to calculate the average unit cost in each month, then i would trend that with a graph.

I'm a bit stuck how i translate this into tableau..

I feel like i need to have a measure or field for each month, but that isn't a viable option within the data.

I can get a trend out of tableau but it only plots the data based on the hire date or exit date fields.. i need it to recognize that because the person doesn't have an exit date, that data point should be plotted in the current month. Or that because the person was exited in February, they shouldn't appear in March.

Is there any way of generating this sort of trend across time, using only the hire and exit date field??

Hope that makes sense..

i have attached my source excel file with some dummy data as a reference..

• 1. Re: Using two date fields to create trend across time
          Stoyko Kostov

Hi Jared,

I did this using a self-join (if I understood your question correctly).

Self-join is needed so you can use Hire Date in one of the tables as your pivot, and the other table to select the employees who have been hired at the time of the pivot.

To get self-join in Tableau, you first need to add a constant dummy field in your data. I added a column called Dummy in your Excel spreadsheet and populated it with 1.

Now you can create the Tableau viz as follows: