1 2 Previous Next 26 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2018 1:58 PM by Patrick Trainer

Recreating a P&L with Tableau Quickbooks Online connector

Taylor Stein

I'm new to Tableau but not to Quickbooks. I'm trying to simply recreate my income statement for a single company but cannot figure out how to join transactions to accounts. Neither of the Sales and Expenses tables seem to have an Account field to identify which Account the transaction goes with. Has anyone been able to recreate their income statements?

Any help or advice at all would be appreciated.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Recreating a P&L with Tableau Quickbooks Online connector

Hey Taylor,

Would you be able to dummy up some data showing what your data looks like and what you're hoping it'll look like?

Also, have you tried the Quickbooks connector in the 10.0 Beta?

• 2. Re: Recreating a P&L with Tableau Quickbooks Online connector
            vijay goel

Diego,

I have the same problem. I think it's a matter of creating a tutorial that highlights which data to pull...it's grouped by the connector and quickbooks into a number of datatables I can't make sense of and don't have a data map for (since it comes from you and quickbooks).

Since you've officially supported the QBO data connector, would be really helpful to show how to generate common reports in Tableau (e.g., profit and loss, cash flow) or create a template us mere mortals can refer back to.

I run a catering company, so we're trying to use Tableau to calculate and track some key operational ratios: kitchen expense vs food revenue, event staff expense vs. event staff revenue, revenue vs. rent/ utilities, etc.  These would be line items I'd pull out of the monthly view of the P&L and we do it today manually by copying the P&L data from the month to month QB P&L report.

Thanks!

Vijay

• 3. Re: Recreating a P&L with Tableau Quickbooks Online connector
              Katharine Frazier