7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2016 6:29 AM by sultan shahrukh

Joining two separate excel files in tableau

sultan shahrukh

Dear Tableau experst,

I am new to tableau, trying to learn how it works and stuff and have some questions. In the sample that I have attached are two files. Both files have the similar Data labels and filter (site,type) but the count is different in both sets. My aim is to connect these two files to tableau and represent both sets side by side to each other on a single sheet in Tableau and than compare the difference in the count of both sets w.r.t identifiers.

I want to have something similar to this and than show the difference between 2014-2015 for each identifier.

Any help or suggestions are welcomed.

• 1. Re: Joining two separate excel files in tableau
          kumar.c

Hi Sultan,

Please find the attached workbook and I have created the report based on the excels provided and also from Sheet1 from two excel files.

Hope this helps.

• 2. Re: Joining two separate excel files in tableau
            sultan shahrukh

Hello Kumar,

Thank you for your feedback and analysis. I have some more questions. I want to attach two more excel files to this . Is that possible? And could you kindly show me how I may find the % difference between 2014 and 2015 for each identifier and represent it on the same sheet.

• 3. Re: Joining two separate excel files in tableau
              Hrvoje Gabelica

Hey man,

so upload first Excel file and make extract from it and then append second excel file. But here's secret. You have to add one column in each of those file and column should contain only one value: name of Excel file. That should be separator in Tableau

HrvojeSheet 1.png

2 of 2 people found this helpful
              • 4. Re: Joining two separate excel files in tableau
                Anoop Odedra

Hi Sultan,

If the files were saved as csv then you can create a union in Tableau, as long as they are saved in the same directory.