2 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2016 7:07 PM by Benjamin Chen

Using Parameters to control calculated members with MDX cube

Louisa Lei

Hi,

I work with relational database a lot but I am new to MDX cubes and having a question about using parameters in calculated members.

In my worksheet, I created a calculated member to aggregate the sales (BL Net Amt) from Jan 2015 to March 2015.

member1.PNG

Right now I have a year parameter (integer type) and a month parameter (string type). I know the internal parameter name: year [Measures].[Parameter_Parameter 4] and  [Measures].[Parameter_Parameter 6]

What I want to do is to use these 2 parameters to dynamically change [2015] and [March] in the calculated member, so the users can choose which year and which month to calculate.

Can someone show me how to achieve this? I saw people mentioning this is do-able but I am still not sure if it is possible.

Thanks!

Louisa

• 1. Re: Using Parameters to control calculated members with MDX cube
          Louisa Lei

Update:

I emailed Tableau support and they told me Tableau has yet had a built-in way to use parameters in calculated members.

But I found a way to work around with strtoset :

AGGREGATE({strtoset('[Time].[Year Months].[Year].[2015].[January] : [Time].[Year Months].[Year].[2015].[' + [measures].[parameter_parameter 6] + ']' )}, [Measures].[BL Net Amt])

This way, the query Tableau runs would be:

WITH

MEMBER [Measures].[Parameter_Parameter 6] as ' "March" '

MEMBER [Measures].[YTD BL Net Sales]

AS AGGREGATE({strtoset('[Time].[Year Months].[Year].[2015].[January] : [Time].[Year Months].[Year].[2015].[' + [measures].[parameter_parameter 6] + ']' )}, [Measures].[BL Net Amt])

and the result is correct.

Also, if I want to control is a member instead of a set, then I can use strtomember.

One problem is, this takes 2 more minutes to run , so basically this won't help. I might still need to find a better way to do it.