5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 29, 2016 12:25 AM by Ashish Chaudhari

Average and aggregate

Boreak Silk

Hello All,

I am very new to Tableau and have a very simple question - how to calculate averages and then aggregate the averages by day, time, location and business type? I have a list of businesses with location (Area_ID), business type (BusinessType_ID), opening day (Day) and time (Time), find attached data and screenshot of the data below. I want to know, let say, how many businesses are open between Friday 5pm and Saturday 3am in Area 4143 and business type 2. I thought of the following steps:

1. calculate averages which will be 1 for those businesses that are open during the above period

2. add them all up to get the total number of businesses.

I'm I on the right track? How do I do it in Tableau so that I can get correct results whenever I change day, time, location and/or business type?

Attached is sample data. The 'Data' field contains only value of 1 representing the business is open.

Thank in advance for any assistance.

Regards

Bo

• 1. Re: Average and aggregate
          Rishabh Dhingra

Hi Boreak,

I have a quick question on the data:

The 'Data' measure value is greater than 1 in many cases, example:- For area code 4143, Business Type Id - 6, Day - Monday, the data value is 7, 8 , 9 etc. Could you help me in understanding this measure? What does it signify?

Thanks,

Rishabh

• 2. Re: Average and aggregate
            Boreak Silk

Hi Rishabh,

Thanks for your prompt response. I double checked and the max and min value of

the ‘Data’ column is 1. I am not sure if I’ve missed something.

Only the ‘Time’ column has values from 1 to 24.

Kind regards

Boreak

• 3. Re: Average and aggregate
              Rishabh Dhingra

Hi Boreak,

Please find below the snapshot. Let me know if I am missing something:

Businesses.JPG

• 4. Re: Average and aggregate
                Boreak Silk

Hi Rishabh,