7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2016 6:27 AM by Simon Runc

duplicate data sources and extracts

Hannah Jensen

Hi, all.  I'm new to Tableau and working on a dashboard in which I have a comparison between current year sales and prior year sales by month.  To create this visualization, I've duplicated the data source and blended it on a shifted year, as in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CAZ3IAJEuCI

In that tutorial, the presenter mentions that duplicating a data source in this way does not duplicate the data extract, it only creates a second set of metadata pointing to the original extract.  However, when I used this technique in my workbook and packaged it into a .twbx file, it did create a second .tde file for the copied data source, making the .twbx file very large.  How can I avoid this?  I tried removing the extract from the copied data source, but this results in a live connection to the underlying database, which is way too slow.  How do I set up the duplicated data source so that it uses the data extract for the original data source rather than creating a second extract file?

Thanks very much,

Hannah

• 1. Re: duplicate data sources and extracts
          anoop.mohandas.0

Hannah,

So you have a data source # A and now you to do a comparison between current year sales and prior year sales by month you duplicated the data source which lets call B. If you do this and do an extract it willhave the data extracts of both A and B. Remember you would have duplicated the data but from a Tableau Perspective it's two data sources having same data. Now what's lingering in my mind is why do you duplicate the whole data source if you want to compare two or three fields? Just duplicate the fields instead of the whole data source. Again I may not be understanding the whole picture of what you are trying to achieve. But I am throwing my two cents.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: duplicate data sources and extracts