13 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2016 8:25 AM by vincent chiew

How can I prevent ratios from consolidating on quarters and years?

Joel Landry

I am new to Tableau and we are currently evaluating it to see how viable it is as a reporting layer on top of TM1 to produce dashboards. We are testing with version 9.2 of Tableau. My team manages all of the TM1 applications internally, so we can make changes in TM1 if it proves to be easier to support this effort. We're currently running a process in TM1 to flatten the data and import it as a Text file to Tableau. We're aware of TM1Connect and will look into this further if the tool looks like something we can leverage.

Since we support Finance, a large amount of our metrics are ratios. The ratios can not aggregate for quarters or years. They have a separate calculation for consolidated time periods. The calculations for these ratios on quarters and full years can be very complex. Since these are all built in TM1, I'm trying to avoid having to re-build them in Tableau. I was able to get around this be importing the TM1 time dimension as a string.  An example in TM1 would be 2015 Jan, 2015 Feb, 2015 Mar, 2015 Q1.  We only look at months, not days.  However, I can split this or convert it to any format coming out of TM1 if it helps.

This solution works to keep the ratios on the quarters and years calculating correctly.  However, since we have no "Time" dimension, we seem to be limited on the charts that we can choose as some require at least 1 Time dimension.  Any suggestions on how I can keep my ratios coming from TM1, but still create a Time dimension to get the benefits of the additional charts?

Thank you

• 1. Re: How can I prevent ratios from consolidating on quarters and years?
          Nicholas Hara

Hi Joel, have you seen this article?

Correcting Date Fields that Tableau Interprets as Strings | Tableau Software