4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2016 8:21 PM by Billy Santos

Global Date Filter with multiple data source

Billy Santos

Hello everyone. So right now, I'm stuck in my project where I need to create a global date filter across multiple data sources.

Here's the requirement:

1 parameter: Report period            - will decide how many months to display

1 parameter: Report End Month     - to filter the dashboard worksheets to display records based on how many months is selected in Report period.

example: If I select Feb-2016 and select 3 from report period, the dashboard should display records from Dec-2015 to Feb-2016.

Another thing is one data source has "Creation Date" as it's date field while the others uses "Date". So I cannot just create a date filter using a date field.

This is very urgent and I hope you guys can help. I'm still new to this and I'm not very good at coding or creating calculations yet. I'd appreciate all the help. I've attached a sample of my workbook so you can take a closer look. I'm using version 9.1 of Tableau desktop.

Thank you in advance.

• 1. Re: Global Date Filter with multiple data source
          Takaaki Koseki

Hi.

I've changed the parameter [Report End Month] a little in order to calculate more easily.

Here's my idea.

GlobalDateFilter

IF DATEDIFF('month',[Creation Date],
             IF [Report End Month]='Current' THEN TODAY()
             ELSE DATEPARSE('yyyy-MM',[Report End Month])
             END) < [Report Period]
          AND DATEDIFF('month',[Creation Date],
              ELSE DATEPARSE('yyyy-MM',[Report End Month])
              END) >= 0
          THEN 'SHOW' ELSE 'HIDE' END

I used two function mainly.

DATEPARSE() - Convert [Report End Month] to date type

DATEDIFF() - Calculate how many months djfference from [Report End Month]

Thanks.

• 2. Re: Global Date Filter with multiple data source
            Billy Santos