6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 3, 2016 5:14 AM by Mark Fraser

Number of projects per city dictating size on map

Richard Birket

I am an absolute beginner having only discovered Tableau earlier this morning. We are a company that create computer generated images of buildings. We are based in Oxford and London, but our projects are in various towns and cities across the UK, and a few overseas.

I am interested in creating a map that has coloured dots that are sized according to the number of projects we have run in those cities, and coloured according to the construction sector: residential, commercial, industrial etc.

Most projects are in London, so it would be great to be able to zoom into the BIG dot of London (for example) and have it split into the different projects as we get close enough to see distinct streets.

Is this sort of thing possible with Tableau?

• 1. Re: Number of projects per city dictating size on map
          Chris McClellan

Welcome Richard

It's definitely possible (and very easy) to have a dot at the location (assuming you have the lat/long co-ordinates) with the size representing how many projects and the colour showing the sector.

It gets a little bit more tricky when you want to split the details while zooming (I've never had to do that before so I'm not 100% sure how to tackle it). 

Also, how do you want it to display when you have projects in different sectors at the same location - maybe a pie graph ?

Anyway, some dummy data would be great to start playing with.  I'm pretty busy this week, but if I have time I'll mock up some stuff for you

• 2. Re: Number of projects per city dictating size on map
            Mark Fraser

Hi Richard

Welcome to the wonderful world of Tableau

As Chris has mentioned, most of what you want is possible, and actually (depending on your data) really easy.

Let me walk you through (I am using the superstore sample data set - which comes with Tableau)