6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 5, 2016 6:44 AM by Alexandra Zemba

Waterfall Chart- Using multiple hierarchy levels on one visualization

Alexandra Zemba

I am fairly new to Tableau and am trying to create a waterfall chart that shows the total number of prequalified loans and how many of that total are at each stage of the process.

I have a data field that indicates where each loan is in the process (see stages below), which is what I am using as my columns.

The total number of prequalified loans (positive number) should be the base and from there I have 5 stages:

1. Disqualified- negative number

2. Rejected- negative number

3. UW Disqualified- negative number

4. In Process- positive number

5. Funded- positive number

The issue I am having is the number of prequalified loans is the total of all loans in each stage listed above. How do I show the Total and the subsequent levels on the same visualization? I tried creating a hierarchy, but that only allows me to look at the Total by itself or drill down to the subsequent levels. I want to use both hierarchy levels on the same chart.

• 1. Re: Waterfall Chart- Using multiple hierarchy levels on one visualization
          Esther Aller

Hi Alexandra,

It sounds like you can show the grand totals by navigating to Analysis > Show Row Grand Totals. By turning on the grand totals, Tableau Desktop will show both the total for each stage separately, plus a total of all stages together.

This step in included in the video tutorial on creating waterfall charts, which may be worth checking out.

I hope this answers your question!

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Waterfall Chart- Using multiple hierarchy levels on one visualization
            Alexandra Zemba

Hi Esther,

Thanks for your response.