1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 15, 2016 12:52 PM by Zach Leber

calculate "busy days" of a resource based on transaction or lookup table

Stephan Lorenz

Dear all

I am new to Tableau and this forum, so please bear with me if I seem a little bit slow in understanding some of the answers you might give me.

This is my current challenge:

I have a booking calendar for various instruments that records users, the resource they book, some more details and the start and end times as a lookup table. I want to calculate the number of days a resource has been booked over a period of time and display 'busy days' in the last 3 months, both as bar chart and line-chart over time.

There are 3 scenarios:

a) a resource gets booked once on a day, so that is 1 busy day - one would just COUNT the occurences of that resource

b) a resource gets booked multiple times a day, which still is 1 busy day - COUNTD gives the correct number (1)

c) a resource gets booked for multiple days (start and end date on different days), which can be calculated with DATEDIFF to give the number of booked days

However, all 3 scenarios are present in my dataset and I cannot combine COUNTD + DATEDIFF since one is aggregated and the other one isn't. I thought that a transaction table might help me solve this. After a bit of messing around with Custom SQL I now have the same data as a transaction table that contains a [Date] and [Type = Start/End] column, but from there on I am stuck. Maybe this approach is wrong altogether... Can someone please help?

Thanks

Stephan

• 1. Re: calculate "busy days" of a resource based on transaction or lookup table
          Zach Leber