1 Reply Latest reply on May 18, 2015 5:39 PM by Esther Aller

How do I highlight high and low numbers in string of numbers?

Steve Holland

Tableau Newbie here.

I have a survey which asked 29 questions which asked the respondents to indicate their level of agreement with on a 5-point Likert scale. I have created a Tableau page that averaged their responses and broke them down based on characteristics of the respondent. I would like Tableau to identify for each question the high and low respondent group. For example, if the question was:

"The school has a clearly defined purpose and mission"

and the averages for the eight respondent groups were:

3.7     3.9     3.9     3.5     3.9     4.7     4.5     4.3

I would like 3.5 to be red and 4.7 to be green.

Any ideas? I've attached a PDF of the screen and the workbook. (Though I don't think the data will come through, right?)

Thanks!

• 1. Re: How do I highlight high and low numbers in string of numbers?
          Esther Aller

Hi Steve,

Currently Tableau Desktop does not have a way to conditional format individual columns in a crosstab built into the product. In order to do format each column individually, we must force Tableau Desktop to give us a marks card for each column. We can do that using a 'container' calculated field.

CREATE A CONTAINER CALCULATED FIELD

1. Select Analysis > Create Calculated Field.
          2. In the Calculated Field dialog box that opens, do the following, and then click OK:
            1. Name the calculated field. In this example, the calculated field is named Container.
            2. In the Formula field, type 0

CREATE THE VIEW

1. Drag any desired dimensions to the Rows shelf
          2. Drag two copies of [Container] to the Columns shelf
          3. Drag the first measure onto Text and Color on the marks card for both copies of [Container]. Note the marks cards will be labeled Sum(Container) and Sum(Container) (2).