8 Replies Latest reply on May 13, 2015 5:20 PM by Jay Guidos

Server did not call us back error using the MakeOrder.java demo on Linux

Ruixin Yang

Hi, I am fairly new to the Tableau Data Extract API and am trying to get it to work on a Linux machine.  I downloaded the necessary files and followed the instructions at Tableau Data Extract API.  However, after running MakeOrder, I encounter the following error:

com.tableausoftware.TableauException: server did not call us back

at com.tableausoftware.DataExtract.Extract.<init>(Unknown Source)

at com.tableausoftware.demos.MakeOrder.main(MakeOrder.java:68)

I have already set LD_LIBRARY_PATH to the tableau lib folder.  I have a feeling I should be specifying the bin folder containing tdeserver64 somewhere.  Can anyone guide to what I am doing wrong?  Thank you.

• 1. Re: Server did not call us back error using the MakeOrder.java demo on Linux
          Ruixin Yang

Additional Information from DataExtract.log

2014-01-14 15:35:25.176 (139729435277120): Machine Configuration

2014-01-14 15:35:25.176 (139729435277120):   Max Descriptors: 262144

2014-01-14 15:35:25.177 (139729435277120): tdeserver: error (Host not found (authoritative)

2014-01-14 15:35:25.177 (139729435277120):  - IPC_Network::Resolve(hostname="::1"))

2014-01-14 15:35:25.177 (139729435277120): tdeserver: exit (-1)

Following the Python tutorial Extract API Introduction | Tableau Software gave the same problem and error log.

• 2. Re: Server did not call us back error using the MakeOrder.java demo on Linux
            Lee Graber

Hi Ruixin,

Sorry you have hit this problem. Can you check where tdeserver64 is? We try to load from these relative paths:

(1) $PATH_TO_CURRENTLY_EXECUTING_LIBRARY/../bin

(2) $PATH_TO_CURRENT_EXECUTABLE

(2) Search regular environment variable $PATH