4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 10, 2014 1:31 PM by Phillip Burger

how to check that one dataset is contained in another

George T

I am working in Tableau 8.1. I have two equal-sized lists of distinct names.  How do I check that all elements from a list is contained in the

other list and vice versa?

I am new to Tableau.  Thank you for your help.

• 1. Re: how to check that one dataset is contained in another
          Phillip Burger

Hi, G T. Welcome to the Tableau forum.

Attached to this reply a .twbx file. It shows one solution. I use tables here. I can think of maybe a couple of other ways to solve this problem. Using sets might be a way.

For large data sets, the solution I'm submitting might not be efficient compared to other solutions. If your lists are long and performance isn't good, try sets. Maybe another reader will have tips on achieving the best performance.

Open up the attached .twbx and take a look. I also put the workbook on Tableau Public. Here is the approach I used:

• I connected to two files.  Each file is a separate list and data source.
          • Used a table to join them. This table contains the common elements.
          • Compare count of common elements to count of elements in either of the two other lists. I compared count of common elements to count of elements in list 1 but could have used list 1.

Description of the worksheets:

• First worksheet shows the Boolean response, True/False.  Showing False in this example since lists do not contain the same elements.
          • Second worksheet contains elements in list 1.
          • Third worksheet contains elements in list 2.
          • Fourth worksheet contains common elements.