6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2014 8:21 AM by Cheryl Scott

When I refresh my dashboard data, integers display as decimals.  How can I get number formatting to "stick"

Cheryl Scott

I am not a Tableau developer, and our office is a new user of this software, so forgive me if my question isn't very sophisticated.  We have created some simple dashboards showing enrollment data for our college and we use Tableau Public to publish them.  We had hoped to get to the point where there was no manual intervention required to update the dashboard, except to point to a new data source (Data \ Replace Data Source).  But there is one glitch.  We have formated the dashboard numbers to display as integers, but whenever we refresh our data, decimals appear.  We thought the decimals were coming from the input files, but have made sure they are not (they are zeros of course).  Tableau seems to be reverting to a 4.2 default display or something.  Is there a way to get number formatting to "stick"?

• 1. Re: When I refresh my dashboard data, integers display as decimals.  How can I get number formatting to "stick"
          Dana Withers

Could I back up a little step? Why are you replacing the data source? Why not let the data source refresh or refresh/edit the connection of the data source? Probably the easier way of changing the data source would be to edit the data source, point to the new source (which I assume has exactly the same format) and update it that way. When you edit and update a data source which has the same (type of) fields as the existing one, Tableau tends to keep your settings as per the existing one.

Alternatively, if you really have to keep replacing the data source from scratch, it may be worth setting the default number format of your field to not have a 4.2 format. To set default number format, right-click your field, and choose default properties => data format. Once that is set, then replace the data source and see if it sticks better this time.