1 Reply Latest reply on Dec 7, 2013 11:30 PM by Jim Wahl

Layering Data in Tableau 7.0

andy wester

Hello,

I'm new to Tabelau and was hoping that someone could help me with this problem.  I have 4 sets of sales data from Q1, Q2, Q3, and Q4 on separate excel workbooks and was hoping that I could layer this data into Tableau so I can do comparisons between the years.  I would combine these on the same spreadsheet but I think this would exceed the 1000 row shelf.  I want to be able to have a master filter then be able to drill down into each quarter then by material number.  Is this possible?

Thanks,

Mike

• 1. Re: Layering Data in Tableau 7.0
          Jim Wahl

Life will be a lot easier if, as you suggest, combine all of the worksheets into a single data source.

Other then cut-and-pasting these in Excel (Excel handles >>1000 rows, but at some point becomes unstable), there are a few ways to do this. In increasing order of complexity:

1. Tableau: Add Data From File

Create an Tableau Extract from the initial Excel file (when you connect to the Excel file, select import all data). Then right-click the data source in the upper left pane > Extract > Add Data From File.

2. Use separate sheets in Excel and Custom SQL in Tableau

If the sheets are in the same workbook, you can use Custom SQL and a UNION ALL statement to "stack" the data into a single data table. Search for UNION ALL and you'll see an example and, if not, reply here and I can sketch it out.

3. Use an Excel macro / Excel federated connection

I haven't done this, but have seen it recommended on the Forums. If you Google for combine multiple files in Excel, you should see a few options. My understanding is that there is a method that allows you to keep the files separate (allowing you to update them independently); hence the term federated---Excel is providing a connection to multiple files.

4. Use a script or third-party tool like Alteryx