9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2013 9:31 AM by John Mogielnicki

User Level Filter and Server Datasource

John Mogielnicki

I am having an issue with user level filters and Tableau Server datasources.  This is my first time needing to implement user-level filters, and I thought I had it all figured out, but then I read this article, which seems to suggest that you cannot use user-level filters with Tableau Server Datasources.

We have all of our datasources published to the server and set to update on a weekly basis, and do not want to have to update datasources manually.  Is it not possible to have both a Tableau Server workbook with automated datasource updates and user-level filters at the same time?  Would love to find a solution to this.

Thanks,

John

• 1. Re: User Level Filter and Server Datasource
          Russell Christopher

Hey John -

I'm frankly having problems parsing that article myself. I think the author may be writing about a specific scenario in which User Filtes & Server Data Sources, but then didn't describe that specific scenario - leading to a false impression that they don't work at all.

Anyway, they work great for me - I just tested things to be sure I wasn't going crazy.

User filters can be added to a Data Source (by way of a Data Source Filter) and then published to Tableau. At that point the user filter in the data source will be applied in all situations the data source is used.

Maybe this article is trying to make sure people understand that the user filters must be added to the data source rather than just hanging around in the workbook itself? I'm not sure - I've pinged around internally to try and find out

Hope this helps? If not, can you sketch out what you're trying to do with a little bit more context?

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: User Level Filter and Server Datasource
            John Mogielnicki

Hey Russell, thanks for your response, this is great news!  I was thinking that I was stuck.