5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2013 10:36 AM by Alex Kerin

Questionnaire / Survey Data and Calculations

kevin.robell

I am very new to Tableau and wondered if anyone had some feedback for me in this regard. I have a large questionnaire that I was originally working with in Tableau that was structured in a way that each question was a column and the answers, mostly (Y,N, free text,) were records. Under this format I have been running into some issues analyzing multiple answer questions (i.e. past sports) with a single answer question (current sport) as a filter - What is the variety of past sports of people who currently play lacrosse. With some helpful feedback on another feed, I cleaned up in Excel using the Tableau "Reshaping" add-in. Now that the data is ordered with both question and answer as dimensions I feel things to be "backwards" compared to how the data was originally ordered. I am trying to aggregate answers that used to be measure but now are a dimension. Obviously this new "Answer" dimension is a string of all different formats of answers (Y,N,free text fields, height, weight, past sports, etc.). How do I create measures for these answers out of this dimension now that the Add-in consolidated these answers in one column. I tried to a calculation but cannot filter to the particular answer (i.e avg height) that I wish to aggregate.

I am still learning the Tableau language so I apologize if I sound a bit elementary or confusing. I appreciate any feedback.

Kevin

• 1. Re: Questionnaire / Survey Data and Calculations
          Jonathan Drummey

Hi Kevin,

What I've done with my survey data (HCAHPS and CGCAHPS) is to have an associated dimension table that indicates the type of question (Likert Scale, Yes/No, etc.). The query that is used as the Tableau data source joins to the dimension table to get the Question Type, then I have calculated fields that do whatever is necessary for that question type.