4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2013 8:34 AM by haaris ghafoor

Multi-Tenancy implementation

haaris ghafoor

I have been trying to create a multi tenant architecture which matches the architecture of my database. I have one database with multiple users. Each user wants to create their own reports; so as an admin I need to enter a criteria where each organization (site in tableau?) can only access its own organization's data. Is there an easy way to add that sort of row-level security at the sites level and not the users level ?

Thanks

Haaris

• 1. Re: Multi-Tenancy implementation
          Russell Christopher

Hi Haaris -

There is no "automatic" mechanism that will allow a site to show only a specific slice of your larger database to the users who utilize the site.

Most multi-tenant architectures will utilize a per-site data source. This data source is pretty much the same on each site except that it contains an oranization-specific filter. The data source is published by you and users may not download/modify it.

The per-site data source will give you site-level data partitioning. If you want to get more granular, you can also take advantage of Tableau's row-level security mechanisms, which will allow you to further partition "who can see what data" inside a specific organization's site.

Many customers will automate this process by building scripts to modify the XML in a data source to "update" the filter and then automatically publish it (via TabCmd) to a newly provisioned site.

Hope this helps!

• 2. Re: Multi-Tenancy implementation
            haaris ghafoor

This is actually very helpful. One more dumb question, if you don't mind. Where would the XML of Data source be saved? If i want to write a script which will edit the filter criterion, where will I find the XML file that would need to be altered?

Thanks

Haaris

• 3. Re: Multi-Tenancy implementation
              Russell Christopher