7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2013 12:42 PM by Jeff Thurm

Need Help Building a Dynamic Time-Series Map using Colors/Shading

Jeff Thurm

I'm pretty new to Tableau and I was hoping I could get some help on how to build out the following visualization that I'm having a bit of trouble with it.

I have a csv file where in Column A, I have the reference #'s of various businesses, in Column B, I have the Year, in Column C, I have the ZipCode of each business, and in Column D, I have data about a certain variable (let's say "$ Funding Level") for each respective business pertaining to that particular year.

I've attached a sample csv file.

I want to build a dynamic "movie" map visualization that will show me each respective business at its location on the map (using the ZipCode provided) along with its respective "Funding Level" colored to represent magnitude... (for example, a high "$ Funding Level" value = dark blue vs. a low "$ Funding Level" value = light blue), and then "play" the visualization so we can see the distribution of the light vs. dark blue over the years (given in Column B)

I've been playing with it but am having a lot of trouble… if anyone is up for the challenge, I’d really appreciate it!

• 1. Re: Need Help Building a Dynamic Time-Series Map using Colors/Shading
          Ramon Martinez

Hi Jeff,

I was playing with your data set and I created a workbook for you.

I want to start saying that there are 10,235 out of 23,743 records with missing (Null) values in the field ZIP. This means that there are a significant number of businesses with ZIP unknown (having null value). See worksheet Missing values in ZIP in the attached workbook

This will impact the presentation of the data in maps by Zip Code.

In your data, all records from year 1996 to 2003 have null values in the field ZIP. See worksheet No., of Business by ZipCode and Year in the attached workbook.