1 2 Previous Next 22 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2014 10:10 AM by Matthew McLaughlin

Is it possible to automatically refresh a packaged workbook on the server

Linda Vold

Hi.

I am new to Tableau, and I am a bit confused when it comes to twb, twbx and extract.

What I want to do is to save a twbx in Desktop and publish it to Server.

On the Server I want to automatically refresh the twbx (weekly or monthly).

I also want to automatically download the twbx to a network drive (using get function in tabcmd)

Is this possible?

• 1. Re: Is it possible to automatically refresh a packaged workbook on the server
          Ramon Martinez

Hi Linda,

Working with Tableau, you always create a workbook. The workbook is a text file in XML format containing all the definitions and settings of the data connection, views, dashboards, etc. This file allows the persistence of all the work we are doing with Tableau in a specific project and it has the fiel extension .twb.

When the workbook (.twb file) is published to Tableau Server, Tableau compact (zipped) it and assign to it the file extension .twbx This compacted file is called package workbook.

Tableau Desktop also allows you to export the workbook to a package workbook without publishing to the server. Check the menu File option Export Package Workbook...

An extract is a new file with extension .tde that is built by Tableau Desktop from your data source. So this is a separated file, let's say a new data source, with a specific data format optimized to increase performance and compacted, so it is very efficient to work with it in term of query response speed and storage.  

The extract file can be also published to Tableau Server and you can set an schedule indicating Tableau Sever to refresh it in a specific frequency over time.