8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2016 1:55 PM by Kris Taylor

Dynamic Max Date

Wizard Lee

Hi all Tableau experts

I would like to know how to get the maximum date from a data set to use in a comparison. I need to get this date value because the data gets loaded for a particular month, and it could be another number of months before new data is then loaded, so using functions like Today() or Now() will not work in this particular case.

I know we can use table calculations to get this value, but the date field needs to form part of the view, what if I don't want this date field to be part of the view? Therefore table calc becomes redundant in this particular case. How do we go about achieving the same thing when this occurs?

I'm fairly new to Tableau and am finding it extremely difficult that sub queries can only be created using custom SQL, I'm an end user and my data source connections are restricted by our I.T. team, so only have access via Tableau Server and besides, don't want to create separate data source connections tailored to a specific view.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated

Wizard

• 1. Re: Dynamic Max Date
          Xavier P

Hi Wizard, have you tried MAX([Date]) ?

• 2. Re: Dynamic Max Date
            Wizard Lee

Hi Xavier

max([Date]) unfortunately does not provide what I'm after, Maybe the below example data set will provide a better example:

max date data set.jpg

So firstly I want to compare the count of units in September 2013 to the count of units in August 2013 and provide a variance between the two months. Secondly, I don't want the batch date field in the view as shown, it will be replaced by a region field, this is what i mean by not being able to use table calcs as the field will not be used in the view.