5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 4, 2013 12:56 PM by Joe Pine

Print / export a vis for each option in the filter list

Joe Pine

I have a report that displays fitness info. The PE department currently distributes the vis to PE teachers using printouts (yes, we are working on getting them iPads in the future). Each class needs the vis printed for each gender and then a combined version.

So:

P/E Cardio Boys

P/E Cardio Girls

P/E Cardio Combined

Advanced Strength Training Boys

Advanced Strength Training Girls

Advanced Strength Training Combined

ETC...

(I think they may also break them out by grade (9,10,11,12)

In writing this I am thinking I can combine some of these into a single vis (find a way to represent gender and grade on the main graph)

But still... is there a simple way that I can print / export this vis multiple times, each with a different quick filter selected? Almost like a "For In" loop in command line programming.

(I a noob here so apologies if my question format is less than ideal.) 

-Joe

• 1. Re: Print / export a vis for each option in the filter list
          Matt Lutton

You could create a viz for each filter combination, but I don't think you'll find a way to print one viz with different filters set in any automated fashion.  You could probably create a parameter on one sheet that provides specific formats to be selected, then printed, as well. 

• 2. Re: Print / export a vis for each option in the filter list
            nicholas.richter

I am curious about this as well. I have a nice dashboard ready to go, but I am wondering if there is a way do a batch export that takes the dashboard and then for each entry in a list filters by that entry, exports to PDF, and then moves to the next.

So a CSV (for example) with:

DEPT,VALUE,ZIP

DEPT1,999,98101

DEPT2,998,90210

DEPT3,997,98155

DEPT4,996,01010