7 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2018 10:31 AM by Cristina Foit

Is there a way to import Facebook, Vimeo and YouTube traffic data into Tableau?

Otto Acuna

I am using quite a bit the Google Analytics import feature, and I was wondering if there is a way to import Facebook traffic, as well as Vime and YouTube?  I am a newbie in all these things and will be thankful if anyone points me in the right direction.  Thanks in Advance

• 1. Re: Is there a way to import Facebook, Vimeo and YouTube traffic data into Tableau?
          Zack Finer

I'm not 100% sure of the scope of the data you want to analyze, but you may find this article interesting: Social Data Week - the Dashboards | Tableau Public

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Is there a way to import Facebook, Vimeo and YouTube traffic data into Tableau?
            Aaron Clancy

There's not a connector per se but they all have API's so you can leverage that to export information into a datatype that Tableau can connect to.

I know Facebook requires an app ID to integrate with their API, so after you set all that up you'll be able to make http requests to their graph api and get back data that you can then store.

Not sure what level of coding you're comfortable with but this is currently the only way I know how to do this.

I doubt Tableau will be adding a Facebook or Youtube connector anytime soon.

• 3. Re: Is there a way to import Facebook, Vimeo and YouTube traffic data into Tableau?
              Thomas Spicer

Otto,

Just stumbled across your post.

As Aaron mentioned most have APIs. We done the heavy lifting and have built connectors enabling the daily pulls of data from Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, etc. into a Tableau supported database (i.e Redshift). The data could also be imported into any other database. We prefer Redshift because of the cost/performance benefits.