12 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2015 3:50 PM by Aakash Hongal

Filtering large data set efficiently without killing the database?

Jason Wilson

I am new to tableau, and am having performance issues with my report (which I am sure is user error on my part).  I have a report that uses a Custom sql data source (from MySQL db).  The query in the custom SQL joins several large tables, thus yields a very large result set, say 500K rows or more.  One of the main columns we want to filter on the customer_account_id, which is returned in the custom sql, and contained in most of the tables.

My first implementation was to use a quick filter on that column, which in turn returns every row of that data (500K+) to Tableau from the db, which then only displays the rows we want, which is only a few.  Which was VERY slow.

My next attempt was to change the quick filter to a context filter.  It seems it still has to return all that data to build the list of customer account_ids for the drop down, so the report still takes forever to load.

My question is how should I implement this to reduce the load on my database server and make the report run as efficiently as possible  I don't want Tableau to return all the data just to get a list of customer_account_ids to show in the filter drop down.  Was hoping that could somehow be populated with a simple select distinct customer_account_id from accounts type query, then as the id(s) are selected, Tableau would only get those records from the database (based on my Custom SQL query) instead of all accounts.  Is this possible?  Let me know if this is not clear what I am trying to ask.  Thanks!

• 1. Re: Filtering large data set efficiently without killing the database?
          Matt Lutton