1 Reply Latest reply on Sep 17, 2013 9:11 PM by Shawn Wallwork

Worksheet filters do not get carried to dashboard?

Christopher MacLean

So I'm very new to tableau and maybe this is a simple mistake or setting that I missed in the training videos, which are a great resource actually. A little project I've been doing to practice visualizing stuff in Tableau is turning an excel spreadsheet with predicted hockey stats for the upcoming NHL season into a tableau visualization; this is to help my aunt and uncle get the edge in their fantasy NHL draft and pick the most productive players.

As you can see in my attached worksheets I pretty much divided every player into 3 categories: offensive, defensive and goalie. In each worksheet you'll see I also made a quick filter on "position" so that defenders don't show up in the "Offensive Values" sheet, vice versa and so forth for all 3 sheets.

Now Where I'm confused is that when I create a dashboard with these 3 sheets and start dragging the sheets into place the quick filter and the color legend for the first sheet I drag, whichever sheet that may be, does show up on the dashboard just like I want it to but the quick filters for the next two sheets do not show up on the dashboard. I know you can select the sheet on the dashboard and get the quick filter to appear but I have to change it to be in the dropdown style I want and essentially waste my time recreating the exact quick filter I already created in the worksheet. Why aren't the quick filters for my 2nd and 3rd sheets automatically showing up on the dashboard? Is it a setting in Tableau that I can change or is it just something I don't yet understand about tableau?

Thanks for any help clearing up my confusion.