5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 8, 2013 7:22 AM by Toby Erkson

Page size on Tableau Server

Shalin Bhatt

I am new to using the Tableau server, and uploading my visualizations there.

I have a visualization with multiple dashboard sheets. The sheets are linked to one another using filters.

I have a couple of questions:

• The dashboard sheets within my visualization are of different sizes. When I upload the file to Tableau Server, each page adjusts to the a height equal to the maximum height among the different sheet. For example, if I have two sheets of height 1300 and 1000, both sheets get fixed to height 1300. The result is a white space of 300 in the shorter sheet. I have tried using both "Automatic" and exact sizes  to rectify this, but that doesn't seem to work. So how do I correct this problem?
      • Is there a way to adjust the position of the tabs on Tableau server. By default, they appear on top. Is there anyway to move them about?

Would be very happy if someone helped me out! Thanks!

Shalin.

• 1. Re: Page size on Tableau Server
          Matt Lutton

Setting all of your dashboards to be the same size (I use the preset "Desktop" size), and making sure all sheets are embedded within Dashboards set to the same size (in other words, don't publish any sheets by themselves, always place them in a Dashboard container so you can set the size to an exact width/height), should rectify the first problem.

There is no built-in ability to move the tabs.  You can either "show" or "hide" the tabs, but there is no way to move them that I know of.

• 2. Re: Page size on Tableau Server
            Toby Erkson

Why do you have inconsistent sheet sizes?

• 3. Re: Page size on Tableau Server
              Shalin Bhatt

Hi Matthew,

Thank you for the reply. Firstly, my output has only dashboard sheets (4 dashboard sheets). I have hidden the sheets that constitute the dashboard sheets.