5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2013 9:33 AM by Matt Lutton

Allow end user to select level of hierarchy?

Wilson Becker

Hey everybody-

I'm relatively new to Tableau, so I would appreciate your help with this.

Basically what I'd like to do allow the end user to expand and contract hierarchies on the row shelf

Take the Superstore Sales for example... Let's say I have the following hierarchy:

1) Region

2) State

3) City

I would like  the end user to look control the view so he can look at sales data by:

1) Region

2) Region►State

3) Region►State►City

Is there a way to set up a parameter control which either allows the user to change the rows on the shelf? Or a way to chose the level of hierarchy that's active?

Any help would be much appreciated!

• 1. Re: Allow end user to select level of hierarchy?
          Matt Lutton

Yes--using a parameter, you can allow the user to choose either "Region", "State", or "City" to modify the view accordingly.  This is a pretty good place to start:

Changing Views Using Parameters | Tableau Software

Once you do this once, it becomes easier every time and it can really save some time and dashboard space down the road.  Best of luck, let us know if you have any trouble setting it up.

• 2. Re: Allow end user to select level of hierarchy?
            Matt Lutton

I set up a very simple parameter in the attached--if you were using user filters along with this, then regional manners would only see their region, the states within that region, and the cities within those states...

Simple parameters like this one are created in two steps:

1) Create the parameter

2) Create a calculated field to leverage the parameter

*Then, you place the calculated field on rows/columns instead of the Region, State, or City dimensions.

The Calculated field "Region State or City Calc" in my example is simply:

CASE[Region State or City?]

when "Region" then [Region]

when "State" then [State]

when "City" then [City]

end