8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 5, 2013 8:11 AM by mark.pickett

Creating Radius calc from lat/lon based on list in parameters

mark.pickett

Hi,

I'm trying to create a map that shows the radius between customers and 3 types of stores.  I've tried creating parameters for a list of "type" variables and building a calculated field based on variable type i.e. cust is 1 mile from to go and 4 miles from retail.  It hasn't worked well.

Been struggling trying to figure out if I need to restructure the dataset while reviewing the forum and vids for insight, but thought former wasn't an elegant solution - although I am a Tableau newbie.  I've seen the calc for radius on circle but can't get past using lat/lon based on "type."

Attached is a sample dataset.  Any help is GREATLY appreciated.

• 1. Re: Creating Radius calc from lat/lon based on list in parameters
          Jim Wahl

Hi Mark,

It looks like the Excel list you attached is a list of store locations?

Do you have a list of customers and their lat/long?

Jim

• 2. Re: Creating Radius calc from lat/lon based on list in parameters
            mark.pickett

Hi Jim,

I have "Cust" embedded as part of type.  Thanks for your interest.    

m.

• 3. Re: Creating Radius calc from lat/lon based on list in parameters
              Jim Wahl

I'm still a little confused on the data structure and goal:

What do the rows in the Excel represent?

What points are you trying to calculate the distance between?

• 4. Re: Creating Radius calc from lat/lon based on list in parameters
                mark.pickett

Each row represents a location of a specific type i.e. either Cust, Wholesale, Mom and Pop, Retail, or To Go.  I'd like to calculate the distance between Cust and other types.

Was hoping there was a way for Tableau to handle the data structure w/o having to resort to restructuring in the DB.

• 5. Re: Re: Creating Radius calc from lat/lon based on list in parameters
                  Jim Wahl

Hi Mark,