14 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2013 5:31 AM by Matt Morgenroth

Managing a large number of trusted ticket IP addresses

Thom Gourley

[I don't seem to turn up any discussion on this, please forgive me if I duplicate...]

I am a Tableau Server admin managing a multi-site server.  Each site will be sharing content via trusted ticket from their respective web servers in other locations.  As the server admin, I will be responsible for adding their IPs to the trusted list.  Over time, I'm assuming that I will need to add and remove IPs to/from this list on a periodic basis.  My first site has required the addition of 14 IPs to the list.  From this number, it seems that as more sites are added from other locations, I could very well be looking at managing a few dozen IPs.

So here's the rub:  The command line (tabadmin) approach works fine for a small number of IPs, but will become a real pain if I'm managing dozens of IPs.  Personally, I would prefer an alternative.  (Why not add this to the Tableau Server Configuration application?)

I have poked around and found that the list is stored in the tabsvc.yml file in the server config.  I'm assuming that this is where the server picks up the "tabadmin set wgserver.trusted_hosts <list>" additions upon restart.  You've probably seen this question coming:  Can I just edit the tabsvc.yml file directly via notepad and effect the same changes? 

On other beef that I have with the documented approach via "tabadmin" is that it seems that the only option is "set" for the trusted IPs.  Is it not possible to print a list or delete entries to this IP list?  I guess maybe I'm in an atypical situation here, in that I will be managing this server for use by multiple other institutions, but if any of you have advice or insights I will certainly welcome them.

Thanks!

Thom 

• 1. Re: Managing a large number of trusted ticket IP addresses
          Russell Christopher

Heya Thom -