3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2013 12:35 PM by Robin Kennedy

Calculated dates and speed problem

Jamal Qureshi

Hi, I have a problem with calculated dates.  I'm a touble newbie to BI I should start with saying.  My raw data comes in MMMYYYY format (for example, APR2003).  I can't figure out how to read it in directly as a date (I note with dismay that TIBCO Spotfire does but I don't like their user interface as much as Tableau).  So I followed these instructions:

http://kb.tableausoftware.com/articles/knowledgebase/fixing-date-fields

So fine, now I have a calculated date field. The only problem is, my data manipulation now goes unusably slow. Anyone have a solution? I'd really like to use Tableau, but without sufficient speed (I'm going to be handling tens of millions if not hundreds of millions of rows of data) I just can't.  Thanks for any help.

• 1. Re: Calculated dates and speed problem
          Robin Kennedy

Jamal,

I would suggest the following, in order of priority

1. Ask for your data to be received in a more standard format and for your database to have that field recognised at a date datatype, rather than a string. How is the data collected? surely it's not being entered like that?? (DBA should be shot if it is)

2. Use Tableau extracts - when you make an extract, some calculated fields are 'materialised' into the extract file so no longer have to be computed. I don't know for sure whether your calc field would be materialised though.

3. Try a different calculation... the one referenced in the article is a bit string heavy, which are expensive to calculate. The trouble is, because it's got text in it we need to convert the month names and can't do pure math...  I would suggest trying

dateadd('month',

CASE left([Date],3)

when "JAN" then 1

when "FEB" then 2

when "MAR" then 3

when "APR" then 4

when "MAY" then 5

when "JUN" then 6

when "JUL" then 7

when "AUG" then 8

when "SEP" then 9    

when "OCT" then 10

when "NOV" then 11