11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2013 8:51 AM by Luke Stoughton

Concatenating numbers and texts

Luke Stoughton

Hi all,

I am trying to include a measure which is a concatenation of a number of student applications (I work in education) coupled with a % increase/decrease value when compared with last year. I want the end result to look per the following, if YTD applications are at 550 and -29% down from the previous year YTD: 550 (-29%).

I can get it using the STR function but the resulting calculated field is shown as a Dimension and cannot be inserted into the main table next to other columns of data as it is not a Measure. If I convert it to being a Measure it turns into a Count Distinct and makes no sense. Any ideas what I can do? It works in Qlikview and can be added to the main output table as a Measure despite being text. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Luke

• 1. Re: Concatenating numbers and texts
          Dimitri.B

I don't think this is possible, as there is no built-in Tableau function that will do that and keep it as a measure.

But if you are building a table, why don't you just display two columns? Like this: | 550 | -29% |

• 2. Re: Concatenating numbers and texts
            Mark Jackson

You could drop it on the row shelf and display it in your table that way. Or you could make a mock cross tab by plotting a zero value and giving it your label. Then just format it to look like a cross tab.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Concatenating numbers and texts
              Jonathan Drummey

This is a case of #1. I'm 99 44/100ths %certain that there is at least one solution, but we can't give you details without more to go on.

Tableau tries to assign Dimensions and Measures based on the following logic that looks at the data type and aggregation level of the field:

- row level fields that are categorical (strings, dates, booleans) are Dimensions