6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 12, 2013 6:58 AM by Andy Paolino

Summing (and calculating ratios) by Certain Variables (SumIfs) ?

Andy Paolino

Hi everyone!

I am rather new to tableau and am running into a major issue making a calculation within my dashboard.  I need to be able to calculate on the fly, based on certain filters, a metric that relies on summing by certain dimensions.  That is certainly a mouth full, so let me iron out an example below using automobile advertising spending and car registrations.

This is a simplified example of what I actually need to do, so to accomplish my actual task I need to be able to calculate the 3 columns on the right within Tableau.  I am able to SHOW "Ad Spend % - Segment" and "Registrations % - Segment" using the "Table Calculation- % of Total" view in Tableau, but it seems like this simply changes the format/view of the numbers, and does not calculate the actual %s (that is, the "Ad Spend" and "Ad Spend % - Segment" would contain the same exact values, they would just be "formatted" differently when one is showing the table calculation).  The reason I need to calculate the actual %s as values in columns is because I need to then carry over to the last field, "Ad Spend % / Reg %," and show this ratio.  I would be able to do this in Excel, so I have to imagine it can be done in Tableau as well!  My Excel formula fors for "Ad Spend % - Segment" and "Registrations % - Segment" are below.  Any help is EXTREMELY appreciated!

Excel formulas...

"Ad Spend % - Segment": =$A2/SUMIFS(ad_spend,car_segment,$D2)

"Registrations % - Segment": =$B2/SUMIFS(us_reg,car_segment,$D2)

Ad SpendU.S. RegistrationsCar ModelCar SegmentAd Spend % - SegmentRegistrations % - SegmentAd Spend % / Reg %
      $1004,000Nissan AltimaFamily Sedan22%62%0.361
      $3001,500Nissan ZSports60%43%1.400
      $3502,500Ford FocusFamily Sedan78%38%2.022
      $2002,000Ford MustangSports40%57%0.700

Thank you again for any help!