2 Replies Latest reply on May 28, 2013 5:07 AM by Chris Polman

Multiple columns under one filter

Chris Polman

I'm very new to Tableau and trying to figure out something that's probably pretty basic.

I've got an xls file that's something like this:

FruitGreenRedYellow
      LimeY

AppleYY
      Cherry
      Y
      Banana

Y

A mark under a color column indicates the fruit is that color, and some have multiple colors. I'd like to set up a quick filter with checkboxes for Green, Red, and Yellow under a single heading, "Color." Checking/unchecking a box will show or hide the matching "fruits."

I tried a few methods like Combine Fields in the data pane, but didn't get very far.

I also thought about modifying the xls file to something that puts multiple values into single cells, like this:

FruitColor

Lime

Green
      AppleGreen;Red
      CherryRed
      BananaYellow

But I'm not sure if there's a way to get Tableau to separate combined values instead of reading them as a single "Green;Red" value.

Is there a way I can make either of these methods work?

• 1. Re: Multiple columns under one filter
          Shawn Wallwork

Hi Chris welcome to the forums. You're on the right track in your second solution. In this case it is much better to reshape your data. This is such a common need that Tableau has an unsupported Excel plugin that does the work for you: http://kb.tableausoftware.com/articles/knowledgebase/addin-reshaping-data-excel

This will create all the necessary rows you'll need to get a single color on each row of the new color column. But before you use the reshaper I suggest you do a find/replace on all those blanks so you get N in all the blanks:

FruitGreenRedYellow
          CherryNYN
          BananaNNY
          LimeYNN
          AppleYYN

After you run this through the reshaper it'll look like this:

FruitCol2Col3
          CherryGreenN
          CherryRedY
          CherryYellowN
          BananaGreenN
          BananaRedN
          BananaYellowY