9 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2013 12:51 AM by Bruce Zhang

How to make an index trend by month?

Bruce Zhang

Hi all,

This is my first time to ask a question in this forum.

I have problem on how to calculate a index trend based on month?

Take the superstore sample data as the example. I can use index() to calculate the monthly rank of each city by sum of sales.

And then I want to compare the index trends (rank change) of this city. For example. 2012-Feb, New York was #10, then on 2012-Mar, New York was #8, so the rank change is +2.

I thought about show the index of these two period side by side, but I found that Tableau can't calculate directly on these two result.

I also think about the lookup(), but find it is not same function as Excel....

I stucked here.

Hope that anyone can help me. Thanks.

I also attache the workbook with the salesforce data sample.

• 1. Re: How to make an index trend by month?
          Jim Wahl

Hi Bruce,

I think you're on the right track with LOOKUP().

Rank Change 2 = LOOKUP([index], -1) - [index]

As with most table calcs, the trick is setting compute using.

Since [index] is a table calc, [Rank Change 2] is a nested table calc. When you add this to the view, double-check the compute using. When you open the Edit Table Calculation dialog, you'll see a pull-down menu at the top with both table calcs, [Index] and [Rank Change 2]. [Index] should be as you had it before > Advanced > Month of Date and City should be in the right-hand Compute Using box with a sort order of SUM(Sales) descending. After clicking OK, verify Restarting Every is set to Month of Date.

Then, in the same dialog box, select Rank Change 2 and verify it's set to compute using Order Date (same as Table Across) and Restarting Every is set to None.

Note that fields used in the table calcs---[index] and SUM([Sales])---do not need to be in the view for the table calcs to work.

See attached.

Jim