10 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2013 7:40 AM by Olga Giannoudi

Connecting 3 excel datasheets-inconsistent mapping of the common categories

Olga Giannoudi

Hello everyone, I am new in the world of tableau and if it weren't this site I would be more lost than I really am.

I have a big task for my company  and I really need help.

I have 3 big excel data sheets.

Each of them has different measures and values  by quarter ( starting Q1 2011-Q4 2012)

First, I have difficulty in making the data consistent because the categories the first excel sheet uses are not exactly the same with the the others

For example: The first source might have data for Shampoo  and the other Shampoo 2in 1 or Shampoo+ Conditioner

How can I blend this data? Should I  do it in excel first? Is there a way to make filters and for every measure I want to give me a drop down menu and choose the category I want?

It would be good to use parameters maybe?

Also, the most important thing is that I don't know how to connect the measures from the three datasources I have. If I blend these data the secondary source is not recognised and returns a null or *.

Is there a way to connect all three excel sheets into one and then use this super-sheet to do my analysis?

I hope it is not too complicated

I would appreciate a response and an insightful approach

Many thanks

Olga

• 1. Re: Connecting 3 excel datasheets-inconsistent mapping of the common categories
          Dimitri.B

I would recommend joining the three sheets in Tableau connection setup. The categories don't have to have the same names, as long as you know what matches what.

When making/editing your connection, just use Multiple Tables option to add other sheets and select what fields to join them on.

add tables.png

join dialog.png

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Connecting 3 excel datasheets-inconsistent mapping of the common categories
            Olga Giannoudi

Thank you very much for the info!