2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 15, 2013 1:52 PM by Jonathan Drummey

How do I count the number of days for each sum of the number of records?  E.g. during the time period, 3 days had 4 cases, 6 days had 5 cases, etc.

Renelle Risley

I have a Netezza database containing patient data.  I cannot post the workbook due to patient info issues.  Each data row contains patient info including the data/time of a procedure.  I want to know how many days contained the various total number of cases.  For example, there are 31 days in which we had one case, 65 days had a total of 3 cases, etc.  Thanks for your help.  P.S. I'm not a programmer & don't know anything about custom SQL.  I'm hoping to do this all in Tableau with calculated fields.  Thanks.

• 1. Re: How do I count the number of days for each sum of the number of records?  E.g. during the time period, 3 days had 4 cases, 6 days had 5 cases, etc.
          Noah Salvaterra

Good question. The problem here is that, while an aggregate measure can be created to count the number of visitors on a given day, we then want to turn around and use this as a dimension. I've been fiddling around with indexes and such, but can't quite get it to compute without leaving tableau. I am at a point where I'd probably reach for custom sql.

I made up some dummy data as you described with date and patient ID (you may need to truncate your date/time to date using datetrunc). I did manage to come up with a frequency histogram by stacking individual marks which feels a bit like progress (but isn't what you asked for). Hopefully someone else can continue where I left off or a quick histogram will do the job.

FYI in the dummy dataset there are:

105 days with 1 case

119 with 2

87 with 3

66 with 4

28 with 5

11 with 6

1 with 7

2 with 8.

http://public.tableausoftware.com/static/images/Hi/Histogramoncalculatedfield/HistogramTrick/1.png