6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 10, 2013 5:57 PM by John Rodat

What are the data requirements for trend lines and forecasts?

Lauren MacMillan

Hi,

I'm still relatively new with Tableau so this is probably a simple question, but the forecast feature in Tableau 8.0 doesn't seem to be available for the data I am working with. (Forecast is grayed out when I right click the chart). It's currently a pretty simple chart- Sum(Expenditures) on Rows and year on Columns. I have 13 data points (years 1999-2011). I also tried to display a trend line, but I get a warning: Capture_warning.PNG

I've turned off Stack Measures, as I read a post about how Trends don't work with that, but am trying to figure out what the underlying issue is. I think it may be that there aren't enough data points to calculate a trend or forecast, but wanted to see if anyone knew what the requirements were.

Thanks!

Lauren

• 1. Re: What are the data requirements for trend lines and forecasts?
          John Rodat

Lauren

I and others have had the same problem. Regrettably, for the forecast function, Tableau requires a date (day, month, year), rather than just a year regardless of the field format.

Depending on your data, you may be able to do a work-around. For example, try creating a new date field, using the year field in your original data and another field representing the first or last day of the year, whichever is more appropriate for your purpose.

Hope this helps.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: What are the data requirements for trend lines and forecasts?
            Lauren MacMillan

Hi John,