8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 19, 2013 1:33 PM by Mitchell Albury

Add additional aliases

Mitchell Albury

I'm relatively new to Tableau and this is my first time posting a question here. I'd appreciate any help you could give.

I have responses to survey questions. The data are integers 0 through 4 which correspond to "not applicable", very satisfied", etc. For one particular question no one choose the response "not applicable." But for consistency when displaying the other questions I'd like to have the "not applicable" display with the other responses with a zero count. Is this possible with Tableau? I've tried to find answers to add a new alias and things like that, but have been unsuccessful.

Just to be clear I'm not referring to null values, there are some of those and I've filtered them out. I just want to find out if it's possible to display something with a zero count, even though it's not a survey response for that question in the data.

Thanks for any help and suggestions!

• 1. Re: Add additional aliases
          Joshua Milligan

Mitchell,

I think If you add your Question to the page shelf and answer on the Rows (or columns) you should be able to keep all the rows visible.  Try playing around with that and if you are still stuck please post a packaged workbook so I can see exactly what you have to work with and I'd be happy to take a look!

Joshua

• 2. Re: Add additional aliases
            Mitchell Albury

Hey Joshua,

Thanks for the reply!

I tried your suggestion but it didn't work. I'm still not able to add the response I'm looking for.

Unfortunately, the data are confidential so I can't post a workbook, but I'll try my best to explain the data and what output I'm look for: