4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 27, 2013 12:37 AM by Anika Nigam

Tableau keeps hanging when I try to import or connect live to multiple worksheets in excel workbook

ruth.wyer

HI,

I am new to tableau and am trying to connect multiple tables in an excel workbook.  Connecting live is too slow, so I have tried importing the data.  Problem is that even though one worksheet has only 1 column and 10 rows, and the other has only 47 columns and 300 rows, I get a dialogue box telling me that tableau is importing rows and it just keeps racking up numbers.  When I got to 5 million rows I gave up and tried to cancel.  Tableau then got stuck on a dialogue box saying it is cancelling.  After an hour of that I had to crash out of Tableau using task manager.  I have retried this trying to limit the number of columns I am importing but still keep getting the same problem, each time having to use Task Manager to close Tableau.  I have also tried different way of importing (i.e. importing using 'multiple tables' and also selecting 'single table' and then adding another table later).  Nothing seems to work.  Anyone had the same problem?

• 1. Re: Tableau keeps hanging when I try to import or connect live to multiple worksheets in excel workbook
          Joshua Milligan

Hi Ruth!

If I understand you, you have an Excel document with a couple of sheets.  One sheet has 1 column with 10 rows and another has 47 columns with 300 rows.  If you open it in Excel and scroll down, you don't see any other values, perhaps quite a few rows down?

It is odd that you would notice slow performance with this data in Tableau when connected live.  And extracting the data shouldn't be an issue either.  At most you should see 10 or 300 rows imported depending on which sheet you were connecting to.