7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2017 11:51 AM by Katie Poznanski-Ring

How do I compare the same statistic filtered on different fields?

Hi,

I am new to Tableau and evaluating it for use on a certain project.  So far I have not had much luck figuring out how to do what I want.

The Data

I have a table of course sections (instances of courses for a given semester and time), the average gpa for that course section, along with the department and college the course is associated with.

The Chart

What I need to make is something like this:

IMG_20120627_093842.jpg

So, for a given course, I want to show that course's gpa (a single value), compared to it's department and college's average gpa (filtered by two different columns), along with the average gpa of the entire University (essentially the average of all the records).

I haven't had much success in any of the ways I have attempted it...

Is it possible to compare the same statistic filtered differently against each other?

Thanks for any help you can give.

Shaun

• 1. Re: How do I compare the same statistic filtered on different fields?

Hey Shaun,

To clarify your question, you are wanting to compare GPAs using at least 4 different filters?

1) Course

2) Dept

3) College

4) University

If possible, sample data always helps, but it seems to me that all you have to do is create 4 different worksheets with local filters and put them in a dashboard.  Then you can set a global filter to change which course you are viewing on the dashboard.  Just make sure that the bar graphs are formatted correctly and are uniform 0-4.0 marked every .5 GPA.  Will that solve your situation or am I not understanding the question?

--Jeff

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How do I compare the same statistic filtered on different fields?
            Tracy Rodgers

Hi Shaun,

I have attached a sample workbook with instructions that I believe will give the desired outcome. Hope this helps!

-Tracy