13 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2012 5:31 PM by Jonathan Drummey

How do I create a scatter plot using X and Y data from different tabs?

Chris Ralph

I'm new to Tableau so maybe there's an easy answer to this, but I can't for the life of me figure it out.  I have a worksheet with two tabs, each of which contains 7 values that I'd like to plot together as the X and Y values in a scatter plot.  How would I do this?!

Many thanks in advance!

Chris

• 1. Re: How do I create a scatter plot using X and Y data from different tabs?
          Alex Kerin

Are the values from the same source? What are the calculations creating the values?

And welcome to the forums...

• 2. Re: How do I create a scatter plot using X and Y data from different tabs?
            Chris Ralph

The underlying data is from the same data source, and the values from from calculated variables containing other nested, conditional calculated variables as inputs.  I could create a tab with all 14 values together in a data table, but still don't know how to specify the X and Y values for the scatter plot. 

And thanks very much for responding so quickly Alex!  Any help you can provide would be fantastic.

Chris

• 3. Re: How do I create a scatter plot using X and Y data from different tabs?
              Alex Kerin

Can you post a tbwx (tableau file with the data included). If the data is sensitive, perhaps you could mock-up/anonymize it?

• 4. Re: How do I create a scatter plot using X and Y data from different tabs?
                Chris Ralph

Hi Alex,

I wish I could, but I can't share this particular data and anonymizing it would be very difficult because the calculated variables I'm trying to plot are complex because they're nested (i.e. multiple levels of other calculated variables make up the inputs to the ones I'm trying to plot).  Maybe this description will help a little: