3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2012 2:31 PM by Ian Simpson

Is it possible to add more than one constant reference line?

Ian Simpson

Hello! I have a table that shows the expenses into a set of gl accounts on a bar chart. Is it possible to have individual reference lines for each bar to indicate the budget for that account? Any other way one would portray this?

I do have data for the budget but I have not been able to properly blend the data to have them mesh together in a working format. If anyone has any tips for me it would be greatly appreciated... obviously I am pretty new to tableau!

• 1. Re: Is it possible to add more than one constant reference line?
          Russell Christopher

Hey Ian --

Welcome! Once you get your data blended, what you want to do should be pretty straight-forward.

I'd suggest you post a "slice" of your data in a very sanitized format to the forum - maybe 1 worksheet for GL actuals, one for budget. Just give us the absolute minimum amount of data that demonstrates the problem you're having getting Blending to do what you want it to.

After your data has been "blended" you can use per-pane reference lines to show the budget value, or draw budget on a secondary axis (the "Dual Axis" feature). Either technique will get you what you want.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Is it possible to add more than one constant reference line?
            Ian Simpson