9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 11, 2018 3:07 AM by Ciara Brennan

How do I insert a text box?

Newbie here:  I've looked but can't find instructions on how to insert a simple text box into a worksheet.  Maybe I'm using the wrong terminology?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: How do I insert a text box?
          Dimitri.B

You can't insert text boxes as such into worksheets, only into dashboards.

In a worksheet you can use caption instead, and overwrite the text in it.

You can also add annotations to the graph, but they will be dependant on what elements of the graph are visible.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How do I insert a text box?

So, if I wanted to embed a copyright attribution, for example, into the chart itself (as opposed to using Caption below it) before publishing it, there's no way to do that?

• 3. Re: How do I insert a text box?
              Dimitri.B

You can do something like this, but if you apply any filters to this graph the notice will most likely disappear.

This is just an annotated area, which is essentially a textbox attached to some graph area.

textbox on graph.png

1 of 1 people found this helpful
              • 4. Re: How do I insert a text box?

No use if you need to filter -- I almost always do -- and presumably little control over placement.

Am I missing something, or is this a major oversight in a program that is supposed to help people distribute and publish BI?  (I'm still in the process of evaluating Tableau for my own needs.)

I noticed that there's a tutorial on inserting images.  Would this be another way to do it? ie.  Treat the copyright as an image and place it on a spreadsheet in the dashboard view?

• 5. Re: How do I insert a text box?
                  Dimitri.B

I think the image insertion is only for map or scatterplot views, i.e. it allows to replace built-in online map with your own image. It only works for certain types of charts and is useful to build views like the one below (courtesy of Ben Jones)